Advanced search

Washington > About Luxembourg > General information about Luxembourg >

General information about Luxembourg

Official designation   Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
Political regime   Constitutional Monarchy and Parliamentary Democracy
Prime Minister   H.E. Mr. Xavier Bettel (since December 2013)
National language   Luxembourgish (Lëtzebuergesch)
Official languages   French, German, Luxembourgish
Capital   Luxembourg-City (115 200 inhabitants as of 01/01/2016)
Administrative divisions   3 districts (Luxembourg, Diekirch, Grevenmacher), 12 "Cantons", 105 communes
Surface   2586 square kilometers (999 square miles)
Population   614 000 inhabitants (as of January 2019)