Advanced search

Washington > News > Luxembourg’s new government is sworn in >

Luxembourg’s new government is sworn in

Published Wednesday December 05 2018

After the Parliamentary elections of 14 October, the outgoing coalition partners, the Democratic Party (DP), the Luxembourg Socialist Workers' Party (LSAP) and the Greens (déi gréng), negotiated a new coalition agreement that was signed on 3 December 2018. On 5 December, H.R.H. the Grand Duke swore in the Prime Minister, the Deputy Prime Ministers and the appointed ministers. At the beginning of the ceremony, the Head of State signed the grand-ducal decrees on the formation of the new government. The Prime Minister, H.E. Xavier Bettel, followed by the other members of the government in order of precedence, then took the oath of office, as stated in article 110 of the Constitution.

Further information about the government can be found here: